The human body has seven Chakras which are thought to be energy centers that draw in vital life energy which allows the body to function. Each Chakra has a corrolating organ or gland in the Endrocrine system, and by balancing these energy centers we can ensure that our physical body is working properly. Below is a list of each Chakra and what it is conected to.

The Root Chakra

Called Muladhara in Sanskrit,  the root chakra is located at the base of the spine. This center holds the basic needs for survival, security and safety. The root chakra is powerfully related to our contact with the Earth, providing us with the ability to be grounded into the earth. This is also the center of manifestation. When you are trying to make things happen in the material world, the energy to succeed will come from the first chakra. If this chakra is blocked an individual may feel fearful, anxious, insecure and frustrated.

The Sacral Chakra

Called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit, is often referred to as the belly or (sacral). It is located two inches below the navel and is rooted into the spine. This center holds the basic needs for sexuality, creativity, intuition, and self-worth. It governs peoples sense of self-worth, their confidence in their own creativity, and their ability to relate to others in an open and friendly way.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Called Manipura in Sanskrit –  It is located two inches below the breastbone in the center behind the stomach. The third chakra is the center of personal power, the place of ego , of passions, impulses, anger and strength. When the Third Chakra is out of balance you may lack confidence, be confused, worry about what others think, feel that others are controlling your life, and may be depressed.

The Heart Chakra

Called Anahata in Sanskrit – It is located behind the breast bone in front and on the spine between the shoulder blades in back. This is the center for love, compassion and spirituality. This center directs one’s ability to love themselves and others, to give and to receive love. This is also the chakra connecting body and mind with spirit.

The Throat Chakra

Called Vishuddha in Sanskrit – It is located in the V of the collarbone at the lower neck and is the center of communication, sound, and expression of creativity via thought , speech, and writing. The possibility for change, transformation and healing are located here. The throat is where anger is stored and finally let go of. When this chakra is out of balance you may want to hold back, feel timid, be quiet, feel weak, or can’t express your thoughts.

The Third Eye Chakra

Called Ajna in Sanskrit – It is located above the physical eyes on the center of the forehead. This is the center for psychic ability and  higher intuition. It also assists in the purification of negative tendencies and in the elimination of selfish attitudes.

The Crown Chakra

Called Sahaswara in Sanskrit – It is located just behind the top of the skull. It is the center of spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thought and energy. It allows for the inward flow of wisdom, and brings the gift of cosmic consciousness. This is also the center of connectedness with the Goddess (God), the place where life animates the physical body.